Skip to content

Today in Literature

February 5, 2009

5 February 1914: American novelist, artist, and critic William Seward Burroughs II was born.  Burroughs published several novels while alive along with various essays, pieces of art, and social critiques.  In 2008, the novel And the Hippos Were Boiled in Their Tanks by Burroughs and Kerouac was published.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2009 10:17 pm

    Burroughs and I are spending a hefty amount of time together these days as I work on my senior sym.

  2. dullatbreakfast permalink
    February 7, 2009 1:11 pm

    I have not read the newest book. I’ve really only read excerpts from “Naked Lunch” as I prepare. I’m focusing on “On the Road,” but I’m taking plenty of Burroughs, Ginsberg, Holmes, and others to help establish my overarching theme – religion in the Beat lives.

Leave a Reply

