Skip to content

And the Rooster Goes To

March 31, 2009

A Mercy by Toni Morrison.

My favorite judge’s comment belongs to Junot Díaz, last year’s ToB winner:

Some very surprising decisions through out the competition. 2666 somehow got bounced and another favorite of mine died too. But this ain’t math, folks. And here we are with two fantastic books. If it were up to me, I’d call it a tie and let it be. But since it ain’t up to me, between these two finalists, I’m going with Morrison. I love this book, this writer, and Piazza’s novel is superb (this cat is a dynamo), but it couldn’t in the end wrest me away from A Mercy. In boxing when it’s a tie they always give it to the champ and that’s what I did. But City of Refuge took Morrison to the brink, and how many books how many writers can make that claim? Bravo, sir.

So congratulations to Toni Morrison for her victory in the 2009 ToB. Her victory solidifies my shame in having never read a Morrison novel. I have a few sitting on my shelves and perhaps I’ll get to them over the summer. Should it be Beloved, Song of Solomon, or A Mercy, or another?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2009 10:53 am

    I haven’t read A Mercy, so maybe you should try that one if all these big-shots think it’s so good. I’ll certainly give it a look.

    It might be a hard sell, though, since, personally, I think Morrison is easily among the most over-rated writers of the last generation (together with Hurston, Bellow, and Roth), and both Beloved and Song of Solomon are evidence of that.

    But don’t mind me.

  2. kolby permalink
    April 1, 2009 1:31 pm

    I agree with the above comment. Beloved and Song of Solomon are two of the most dreadful novels I have come across. Avoid them at all costs. I just started A Mercy. So far I like it.

Leave a Reply

