Skip to content

Infinite Summer

May 28, 2009

Despite what seems to be an ever-growing summer workload and reading list, I have decided to dedicate myself to completing the Infinite Summer.  According to the beautifully simple site, the challenge they are proffering is to read all of David Foster Wallace’s novel Infinite Jest (that weighs in around a whopping one thousand pages–including perhaps too many footnotes) between June 21st and September 22nd, 2009.  Broken down, this seemingly difficult task becomes a mere seventy-five pages a week, or, a little less than eleven pages a day.  This massive book is one that I have been meaning to tackle for the last five years so this is a perfect opportunity to bring down a giant.

In order to keep my academic/reading priorities straight, I will read Infinite Jest only during my hour-long daily lunch break—morning, evening, and night reading will be appropriately divvied up otherwise.

You’re cordially invited to join in on the summer fun.  I’m sure that the internets will be abuzz with different discussions of the novel throughout the summer and I plan to offer my thoughts on the subject here.

I know that I promised to talk about 2666 more here, but I’m so woefully bogged down in Part Four that I cannot yet bring myself to open the book again.  I’ll get there someday.  Ideally, I will have finished 2666 by mid-June, but if not, the Infinite Summer will take precedence and Bolaño will have to take a back seat in favor of DFW.

What are you reading this summer?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2009 3:07 pm

    I want to read Doris Lessing’s The Golden Notebook. It only has six hundred and thirty something pages, though. I guess I’m a wimp. 🙂

  2. May 29, 2009 1:33 pm

    I just finished “Consider The Lobster”, a book of essays by DFW.
    Some were boring, but the overall book is awesome, and DFW is very astute and smart.
    I’m curious regarding Infinite Jest but it’s too intimidating…
    Let us know how it went!

    Frankelstache

Trackbacks

  1. Warming Up for the Infinite Summer « the anxiety of influence

Leave a Reply

