Skip to content

Amateur Librarians

July 21, 2009

A well kept and organized personal library is a thing of beauty.  In the past, I have written about my librarian-esque tendencies and the lovely site that is LibraryThing (linked is my personal collection, not the site itself); but I have grown less-than-content in regards to my collection.

It’s not that I dislike my books–by no means!–but that I feel like I need to shake up the way I’ve arranged them.  W/r/t (my devotion to the Infinite Summer has not failed to influence my own prose) my main–read ‘over-large’–bookshelves, they’re generally organized by fiction/non-fiction, then genre (general reference, language text, American lit, British lit, etc.), then shelved alphabetically by author.  Overall, this shelf is for books that are not in regular use or rotation.

However, the books that are either waiting to be read soon, being used in a class, or frequently referenced for pressing work reside either on my nightstand or on the hanging, more-decorative-than-practical shelves above my desk and, subsequently, next to the television.  These are organized (less rigidly than the larger shelves) by topic and author.

While I want to come up with a better system (I’ve tried Dewey and it just didn’t work for me), I can’t seem to conjure any workable plans.  The Guardian offers a few methods but none seem to strike my fancy.  Any suggestions?

How do you shelve and organize your personal collection?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2009 7:51 pm

    Not sure if it’s the first time I’ve looked at someone else’s library on LT, but it’s definitely the first time I noticed that it tells you what books you have in common. You and I have 69. The most obscure among them is Shelly’s “Prepare to Answer,” owned by only 16 LT members.

    http://www.librarything.com/catalog/jonmower

  2. July 22, 2009 2:52 pm

    WTF is W/r/t?

  3. July 22, 2009 4:16 pm

    The way DFW uses it, w/r/t means ‘with regard to.’

  4. Alice-Anne permalink
    July 23, 2009 12:24 pm

    how do i organize my personal collection?? hmm…i think i saw that book around here somewhere….

Leave a Reply

