Skip to content

Anti-Paranoia

December 31, 2009

“I was never the sort of child who believed in ‘monsters under the bed’ or vampires, or who needed a night-light in his bedroom; on the contrary, my father (who clearly ‘enjoyed’ me and my eccentricities) once laughingly told my mother that he thought I might suffer from a type of benign psychosis called ‘anti-paranoia,’ in which I seemed to believe that I was the object of an intricate universal conspiracy to make me so happy I could hardly stand it.”

–David Foster Wallace in “All That.” Gone far too soon.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 14, 2012 9:01 am

    Recently I found a large (18 inches) wood carved angel in a trash can, It was missing an arm. As I was passing the same trash can a week later, a dog in the yard barked at me, a lady came out to quiet the dog. I asked her about the angel. She said her duplex neighbor threw it away. I said it was beautiful except for the missing arm. “Oh I have that” she gave it to me and back together it was Gabriel blowing a horn. It now sits on a bed stand as my guardian angel. Dick Eustice, Colorado Springs

Leave a Reply

