Skip to content

As I Search for the Resolution

January 12, 2010

Photograph by Tonx via flickr

Shortly after the beginning of 2010 I began to reflect on the making of New Year’s resolutions. I have never been one to set firm resolutions at the first of the year, primarily because I don’t much care for failure and decisions of that nature tend to not stick. This year, instead of making resolutions I set about thinking of what I can do to make myself a better person.

Knowing that huge sweeping changes won’t stick I am compiling a list of achievable everyday things that will help shape me into the person I hope to become. Here’s what I have so far:

  • Talk to someone I don’t yet know
  • Pray
  • Enjoy some form of coffee
  • Smile
  • Write something–either journal, blog, or terrible poem
  • Drink tap water
  • Take the time to engage with a text, really engage

The list above is open to change and augmentation but that is what I have so far.

Along with the daily actions, it’s important for me to set goals for personal improvement and perhaps even more important to hold myself publically accountable for said goals. With that in mind, here are my goals for this year (but they don’t count as resolutions since it is now the twelfth):

  • Get my thesis published–the idea is that for publication, I have to finish writing the thing, too; finishing isn’t a goal, it’s reality
  • Run a half-marathon–I’ve always told myself that I’ll get back in shape but with this goal, I have to, otherwise I’ll suffer terribly for 13.1 miles
  • Drink not one drop of bottled water–tap water in the US is much healthier than much of the drinking water worldwide, no need for an extra step or extra $2
  • Finish Infinite Jest–this should have been finished last summer
  • Read through the Bible–as of now, I’m two weeks into a 90-Day plan
  • Read something surprising and out of

That’s what I have so far. If you have any suggestions or criticisms then let ’em fly.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2010 9:44 am

    Resolutions are overrated. I’m trying to do away with my tendency to make goals and replace it with making plans. I’m super impressed w/ your Bible in 90 days goal. I do read fast enough to make that possible. Here’s the half marathon running schedule I used: http://www.newrunner.com/article/0,7120,s6-238-244-258-6851-0,00.html

  2. January 13, 2010 9:54 am

    Chris: I was mostly inspired to run the half after listening to the first few episodes of the Two Gomers Run a Half-Marathon podcast you suggested recently. Thanks for the schedule, I certainly need to get running into my everyday routine.

  3. January 13, 2010 10:40 am

    Why am I not surprised that coffee appears somewhere on your list? 🙂

    Seriously, I think you’re right about the small steps thing. I’ve made huge, sweeping resolutions before and rarely, if ever, been able to keep them. But small steps can lead to big life changes over time. If we change direction, even by a few degrees, we’re changing where we’re going. My small steps have to do with simplifying, but the little changes I have in mind will (I hope) touch every area of my life. Good luck!

  4. January 3, 2011 7:20 pm

    I’m sure you know that the more you write, the better you will become. Do some basic research on different kinds of poetry. And then sit down and write, write, write. Write a few different styles, and I’m certain you will come up with something you like. And if you don’t like it, it doesn’t mean no one else will. I encourage you to share your attempts at poetry, either in this blog, or another outlet. Best of luck in your resolutions!

Leave a Reply

